• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

She gone and done it.

Russ

Istar
So I fretted for a few days about where to post this, but this sub forum seems appropriate.

On Monday my lovely wife sold her debut novel's UK rights to a very good publisher.

Negotiations for US rights, audio book and film rights are currently ongoing. We expect them all to be finalized shortly.

If I seem incoherent for a while it is because the blood is rushing to my head as I am dancing on the ceiling.

Once the dust settles I will be pleased to discuss the process to the extent I can.

Mythopoet

Auror
Hope you had an IP lawyer go over the contract and negotiate it for you.

Also, wouldn't this go in the "Publishing" forum?

Russ

Istar
Hope you had an IP lawyer go over the contract and negotiate it for you.

Her agent is a lawyer, I am a lawyer and at the time we were working on it we were on vacation with two very savy NYT best sellers. We are pretty confident in the terms which were very good.

Also, wouldn't this go in the "Publishing" forum?

I considered that, but that forum said it was for getting published in fantasy and my wife writes thrillers.

Russ

Istar
So, are you next?

Let's hope so some day! Realistically my wife is a better writer than I am, but I hope to learn a great deal from the path she took to get there. I plan to use the same editor, and try to get an agent at the agency who represents her to represent my work as well.

But finishing the book first might help.

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
That's really awesome, Russ! Congratulations for her!

Thriller or not, I hope you'll let us know when it hits the market. I look forward to reading it.