• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Super Mario Galaxy vs Super Mario 64

Sheilawisz

Queen of Titania
So yeah, I am a huge Mario Fangirl...

I always wanted to own a Nintendo Wii and play the celebrated Galaxy games, but for years I found the prices too high... Then my friend from Madrid told me about the existence of this less expensive Wii Mini, and I purchased it a little more than three weeks ago.

My small Wii came with Mario Kart, but the game that I was really interested in was Super Mario Galaxy and I bought it that day, too...

I have been playing Galaxy for twenty three days already, so it's time to start a thread here.

After explaining all of this, I want to let you know that I am an expert in Super Mario 64, the legendary game from the 90's that captivated the imagination and hearts of millions of players. I still have my old Nintendo 64 and I play it sometimes, which means that you'll be reading the opinion of a rabid SM64 fanatic venturing into the Galaxy worlds.

I have earned seventy two stars in Galaxy already, there is still much of the game for me to explore but yes, I want to start comparing the two legends:

My first impression playing Galaxy was pretty bad. The game has a very intense, powerful kiddie-style atmosphere, which I found quite annoying. All Mario games feature cute elements, that's true, but Galaxy felt like a true excess of it. The graphics and also the flying sequences are cool, but there is something missing here.

The story is good, that I admit. SM64 has a very basic plot, and Galaxy in comparison features a deeper, more complex story that enriched the Super Mario series a lot.

Rosalina is an excellent character, I love her.

The Lumas, well... I am still very annoyed by them. I wish that I could make Mario go and complain to Rosalina about her animals and how they choose to sell stuff to Mario instead of helping him directly. They are too cutesy, a true sugar overdose!