• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Hello! MeanMachine here!

MeanMachine

Scribe
Hello, people! MeanMachine here!

I'm a male of currently 25 years of age. Some things I like to do are reading (mainly fantasy, sci-fi and historical), writing, playing video-games and watching anime/reading manga.

Like much of the members of this forum, I would guess, I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy fiction.

Since I am currently unemployed, and my prospects at a "conventional" job are not looking too bright, I decided to give writing a try. Especially since I got nothing to lose but time, of which I have plenty at the moment. We'll see how the actual writing go.

As for what I am working on right now, if anyone is interested, it is a story set in a world of omnipresent magic, monsters and adventurers, a world in which three continent-spanning empires are on the brink of duking it out for domination. Its a world where skyships fly the monster inhabited skies, a world in which shadowy organisations have far reaching influence.

It's got loads of magitech (like the skyships), flying continents, almost everyone can do magic if they try, though to be good at it (for example, to be of use in a fight) it usually takes lots of work and practice, the monsters are standard fantasy fare (dragons, wyverns, living trees one lumberjack away from going on rampage, a whole lot of giant, magically boosted animals, just a few examples), and the physical setting (food, clothing, architecture, landscape) is based mostly on Mediterranean, middle-eastern, South East asian and a mix of 17th to late 19th century european inspirations.

I'm not aiming for ground breaking originality, nor for anything too philosophical, just for a fun, entertaining story that some (thought I'm hoping for many) people would enjoy reading.

Well, that's all I got for now. I'm here to learn and get to know people, so I'll be getting on with that right away!

Russ

Istar