• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Camp NaNo 2014

Mythopoet

Auror
Anyone participating in Camp NaNo this month? I've signed up at the last minute. I'm setting myself a goal of only 25,000 words because I'm a slow writer. I'm trying to improve, but I don't think I should put too much pressure on myself. If I do well this month, maybe next time I'll set a higher goal. :)

I'm working on a story that is meant to be a sort of gateway story to a larger epic cycle. As such, I'm not sure whether it will end up being a novel or novella. I plan to just tell it and see how many words it takes.

My story is about a prince named Sollon who, as an invalid, is useless in the war that is currently plaguing his country, Atthis. But the war is not going well and he determines to do something to help his homeland. So he gathers a crew of heroes and sets sail across the world to search for the legendary Sacred City of the Gods, where he believes they might find aid or at least knowledge to help them defeat the strange creatures that are attacking Atthis and the rest of the Riverlands.

It is inspired by both The Odyssey and Jason and the Argonauts as well as other aspects of Greek and various world mythologies. I don't have a plot established or an outline to follow, which is new for me. All I know is that my heroes and heroines set out from one corner of the map and arrive, in the end, in another part of the map and that there will be many fabulous adventures along the way. I'm excited to try something so different for me. :)

SM-Dreamer

Troubadour
I have signed up, and I started to do it, then I encountered a technological... issue. I splashed water on my laptop, and the keyboard is now broken. So my original goal of 31k may get downgraded.

But I like doing NaNo because it gives me the kick in the rear I can't seem to give myself.

Mythopoet

Auror