• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

I'm so scared. I submitted material to a comic book publisher and....

morfiction

Troubadour
.... well, I'm not very good at script format. I also under-sold myself in the cover letter.

It's not rejection I'm afraid of but acceptance and having a deadline I might not be able to meet.

Anyone else have any anxiety they'd like to share?

P.S. I answered an online talent call from the publisher. It wasn't unsolicited.

Last edited:

Chilari

Staff
If the publisher posted a talent call online, they'll get quite a lot of responses. Underselling yourself won't help. Never do that when applying for a job. It lost me one job at interview stage once (well, I might just have not been good enough) but when everyone else applying is doing their best to exaggerate their accomplishments without being dishonest about it, underselling yourself will make you the one they discard first. Lack of confidence is not attractive to an employer. So, sorry to say this, but on that alone you probably won't get it. So there's no need to worry about deadlines!