• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Mythology and "Witchcraft"s in Other Cultures.

Addison

Auror
My story handles a blend of different cultures and mythologies. From the classic, and somewhat cliche, western cultures to Chinese, Egyptian, Meso-American and Native American. I want to keep each culture and their magic as realistic and genuine as possible and the only way is if I have solid notes on each one. My town's library has few books on the subject, all of them dated. Wikipedia isn't so helpful so any sites or free PDF's or youtube podcasts or such will be extremely helpful.

So, to reiterate, places of knowledge for mythologies/magics of other cultures. Please and thank you.

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
I have some knowledge of what Witches are in Native American cultures of the South West States.
It is a very subjective term.
Basically, a Witch is an evil bad person [male or female - it doesn't matter]. You might go to a shaman or singer for a cure to the curse that you think a Witch has put on you. In many ways no-one would want to be described, or would describe themselves, as a Witch if they wanted an easy life.

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
You're in for a challenge. There's a tendency to normalize or standardize or classify these cultures along basic groupings, and it can be very difficult to parse out many of them as distinct enough for the purposes of a fantasy magic system.

What's worked for me in the past is to look at a group of related cultures, try to "find" the magic system that would work across the group as a whole, and then to lay out that magic system across a new group of fantasy cultures. If you look at enough cultures - say, the Native American ones, which I've done this for - you can find enough unique elements to support a fully developed magic system. Then you can find other ways to make each Native American-based culture that you feature distinct.