• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Martial Arts Questions

Aurelian

Scribe
Ok this thread is for research on Martial Arts and the Like. Ask me any questions you want regarding hand to hand combat. My specialty is Karate and its roots but I have a wide knowledge base on both Ancient Martial Arts and Modern Martial Arts. So ask away.
Aurelian

Aurelian

Scribe
No they're aren't Many Silat places around where I am and on top of that I don't do much tournament fighting.

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
From what I've read, Mixed Martial Arts does a great job of showing which techniques are genuinely effective in one-on-one unarmed combat. But if you're unarmed, and your opponent has a sword or another weapon, which martial art form would be the go-to for that situation?

I looked a little, and I saw a lot of claims about several forms having gone centuries of development without really being tested in combat, so as a writer I'm having trouble figuring out which ones I should be looking at as an effective choice to base a character's fighting style off of.

Ravana

Istar
From what I've read, Mixed Martial Arts does a great job of showing which techniques are genuinely effective in one-on-one unarmed combat.

It used to. Then they went and added rules. Screwed the whole thing up. :(

It's still closer than anything else you're likely to find televised—in the U.S., anyway—but if you really want to get a good sense of styles and techniques in an "even" comparison, locate tapes of the UFC back when the tournament numbers were still in the single digits.