• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Ask me about horses.

Telemecus

Scribe
I have been born and raised on a horse breeding ranch. I have broken horses, trained them, showed them, ridden them in rodeos and cattle drives, spent countless hours feeding and watering them, and more than a few restless nights delivering foals. I don't feel like I have much to offer all you scribes, since I am so young, but this is one area I can contribute to a lot. Also, if you're interested, I have hunted from horseback, and participated in training a jousting horse, and helped with the actual event. I would love to help anyone out, if they have any questions.

afrisch

Dreamer
Greetings! My name is Alisa and I'm originally from the eastern U.S., but now finally live in Arizona. I've been learning western horseback riding since last 2011, and although never raised with horses, I'm always trying to learn more with magazines and books. Since I recently acquired an IPad, do you know of any apps that are good for horse knowledge? Thanks!

Telemecus

Scribe
I am sorry, but most almost all of my experience is first hand. Louis Lamour has written a number of western themed novels that are filled with accurate portrayals of old west behavior, including horse riding. Other than that, I don't know anything else you could download (we are a little lowtech out here. The computer is about all I have)

Valentinator

Minstrel
Great, I have several questions. What is the speed of the horse when you are traveling on its back for weeks? How many hours a day a horse can carry a man of an average size? If the guy is big does it affect the horse much? Which things you are taking with you to take care of the horse?

Hi, I#ve raised horses all my life too, and I doubt you'll be able to answer this question, but do you know anything about the harness that was used with Chariot driving? I'm trying to research it and getting no where.

Telemecus

Scribe