• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Opinion about swords?

So in my WiP I have several central characters that wield a sword as a primary weapon. While the types of swords vary, I am still wondering, is it possible to have too many characters wielding such a weapon? I've always thought of the sword to be a go-to weapon in a fantasy setting, but I have also noticed that they are used a lot in fantasy literature. Any thoughts?

Ireth

Myth Weaver
I'm by no means an expert on history or metallurgy, but I imagine a sword would be less common than, say, a spear or something else with metal used only in a smaller amount. Metal was hard to come by and to shape into weapons, so I would think people would want to use it sparingly. Swords might have been used only by those wealthy enough to buy them (or daring enough to steal them, perhaps).

Tom

Istar
Well, swords seem to be the fallback fantasy weapon. But there is a reason--they're probably the most widely used weapon around the world. Nearly every culture has some variation on the sword.

Personally, I find having too many characters wielding a sword gets repetitive. That's why in Southerner, my protagonist has his bow and knife, the barbarian mage has a sword, and the young woman tagging along has a sling and a knife. There's a lot of variety there, and therefore more opportunities for diverse and interesting fight scenes.

As for swords in fantasy, there are certain cliches that it might be wise to avoid--the over-embellished sword, for one. A plain, practical, bare-bones sword looks a lot more deadly to me than one with dragon wings for a crossguard, a huge gem set in the pommel, and a blade covered with curly designs and weird notches for no reason.