• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Involving music without writing songs

SeverinR

Vala
I am writing a book about a young Bard,

How can I write about her music without writing songs, or lyrics?
I think my first draft did it, but when I look at it I want to highlight the music more, but I am not
into song or music writing.

I write how the crowd reacts, the dragons react, and how she feels when playing, and one big change the MC will sing to the hatchling to eastaablish the bond and the hatchlings love of music.

In the end, there is a funeral, and I want her to play/sing or both for the mourners, the song would be about the life of the deceased, again without attempting something I have no gift/enthusiasm/or experience with.

second:
Can anyone suggest books about fantasy Bards, that you consider well written. (with or without including real songs or music they created.)

My original work is good, but I think I can make it better without showing my ignorance or trying to "fake it".

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
I don't think you can get away with it for a whole book, not easily at least. You're running afoul of basic storytelling by, well, telling us how great your bard is without showing us any clear examples of it.

I suggest you pick up a book with old folksongs that are in the Public Domain, and tinker with the words here and there to fit your character. If you only use brief snippets, and change them sufficiently, I think you should be okay.

I think a study of poetry would be in order as well, what is a song but poetry set to music?

Sent from my Blade using Forum Runner

Janga

Minstrel
Does the bard play an instrument? I find that Patrick Rothfuss' descriptions during musical parts in his book "The Name of the Wind" is great. Maybe check that out. However, when it comes to lyrics, it would probably be best to include at least some.

You may not be into music or songwriting, but your main character sure is.