• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Well... Making an attempt

The Unseemly

Troubadour
I'm relatively new to this forum (post count's suggestions), and, indeed, I suppose like many are, am making an attempt to write a fantasy book. Firstly however, I'd be really glad to see what people think of Heline (note: the last e has an acute accent, can't get it on the forums...) and Tel-Anon. I'm not very good at direct explanations (C+ on essays told me this...), so, perhaps, a little passage... Anyways, don't fall asleep:

There are perhaps may oddities that one may notice when walking through the streets of Tel-Anon. The first may be that you could notice the multiculturism, the many various ethnic groups of Representative Species which was Tel-Anon. To the observant eye, this could lead to problems with clothing retailers, because, well, something that fit the Aves did not necesserily fit the Rattus norvegicus, and lead to complications such as a goblin wearing a suit intended for a lein, which had previously been designed by a gargoyle.
Then, the walker of Tel-Anon's streets might, like it happens in any modern city, come across the traffic, and not help but wonder what sort of ideas people had for transportation. The manticore, for example, was preferable to the horse, as not only did it gallop two times faster, but bystanders also got out of the way two times faster. Something to do with the face, they said, and the size. Or the flying carpet, for that matter, especially the living-room sized one, made a good source of income as it could be used as public conveyance around the city.
Supposedly there was also a speed limit somewhere, however, since there was no universal method of measuring speed in Tel-Anon, because what was 100 knots per hour for a donkey was quite different from 100 knots per hour for a griffon, making that speed limit “acceptable,” which usually varied on the mood of the driver.