• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Fixing a country wracked by civil war

I won't get to this story for a while, but I've been thinking about it recently, and there's no harm in laying the groundwork. The story involves a country wracked by a series of civil wars. My question is, how could I plausibly set up an ending in which it becomes stable, without allowing it to be overtaken by corruption or tyranny? I'm particularly interested in examples of real-world countries whose path I may be able to imitate.

I'll put the setting details below, in case anyone wants to find a close comparison, but don't read them if you don't want to--they're a bit dense. (Feel free to tell me if anything seems implausible--I'm new to the alternate-history approach.)

The country was originally a colony called Bennett's Pride. The colonists rebelled and founded their own country, a constitutional monarchy called Hope, enriched by its supply of the magical mineral known as psyche.

Over generations, the monarchy fell into corruption. At the same time, the depletion of psyche led to the extinction of many magical species in the region, causing an ecological catastrophe that ruined much of the farmland. With the kings rich and the people starving, the clergy fomented a violent revolution against the monarchy, founding the Democratic Republic of Hope (which thereafter had a strong theocratic slant.)

The DR originally urged that no more psyche be used, instead relying on a substance called spark that was far less powerful but safer to use. For a time, the country began to improve--but the clergy found their own brand of corruption, and became no better than the monarchy. Twelve years ago, they were overthrown by communists, using resources and technology from the communist country of Roike (which desired a communist ally on the largely capitalist world stage.) The communists proceeded to found the People's Republic of Hope.