• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Describing Clothes

Do you guys describe the clothes that each or any of your characters are wearing? Do you think it's important to?

buyjupiter

Maester
Yes. Sometimes I go into detail about what kind of fabric they're made out of too, if I feel it gives pseudo-historical accuracy to the world building. I've sewn some stuff, but I've explored the fabric selection at the store often enough to get a good idea of what is stiff vs. fluid, what rips easily, what would be easily repaired vs. not, etc.

I think about climate first, then functionality/occupation, then social status, then man/woman/child. I find that clothing is a good indicator of so much information, that not describing it means if you want a lushly detailed world you have to spend that time elsewhere. (And I want to read more about clothing than I do about how much snow they get in a winter.)

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
I'm a costumer by trade and LOVE clothing more than is probably healthy... and MY answer is "no".

This thread has been discussed many times. You might consider searching it and seeing what has been said before, because they were pretty good advice.

If the clothing is important to the scene, I do describe it. Say, a character is dressed in evening attire... well they aren't wearing their normal get-up. So I describe it, vaguely. "He moved closer until his thigh pressed into her voluminous skirt..." "Looking dashing in his dark doublet and perfectly tied cravat, with his hair slicked back..."

For me, that brief description is enough. it paints an image of the rest of what a character is wearing.