• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How to handle a Catholic character?

Tom

Istar
To start off, let me just say that I'm scared stiff of writing this character's religion.

I have little experience with Catholicism, despite hailing from a city famous for its strong Catholic roots. Both my parents were raised Catholic, but left the denomination and became Protestant. I know how to make the sign of the cross, used to be able to recite maybe one Hail Mary, and can only manage to follow along (or at least pretend I can) when I attend Mass with my Catholic extended family. That's the extent of my knowledge.

My character is Irish Catholic, but he's kind of a casual observant. He probably only goes to Mass on holidays. I'm not sure how to write his attitude toward religion, since I don't know the Catholic perspective. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Best advice I can give is handle him honestly. By that I mean sell neither the character nor the religion short.

My dad is a former Catholic, he converted to Mormonism when he met and married my mother. He still, in some ways, holds to his former Cathlocism. He uses Catholic swears, (like when he hits his thumb with a hammer he says "Mary, Martha, and Joseph.") He still uses some Catholic sayings he learned from nuns while growing up ("Sing at the table, dance in your bed and the devil will get you by the hair of your head."). This as waned over the past thirty years from his conversion to Mormonism but it's still there. So if I were to put a character like my dad in the story I would make sure he is that blend of Catholic upbringing and Mormon adulthood. That is being honest to the character, making sure they are who they are.