• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Copy Editor Pet Peeves

My biggest gripe is when chapters X and X+1 have really good grammar, and suddenly chapter X+2 has massive grammar issues that weren't present before. If your grammar is weak throughout, I'm willing to fix it, and if your grammar gets better as you continue, at least you're learning. But if you clearly didn't put as much effort into writing a particular chapter, why should I put extra effort into fixing it? (I'm not a professional, so I actually have the luxury of sending chapters back and saying "I know you can do better than this.")

SeverinR

Vala
Some need some explaining,
but #3 pretty much shows its exceptable to use the singular "they, since it has been used since the 14th century."

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
Oohey, that was fun. Some of it I didn't understand at all, but some was rather funny. I have to admit, the items I didn't understand were perhaps a touch modern for fantasy-genre writers (unless you place "woot woot" into your fantasy where I um...don't?) Anyways, yeah that was a good time. The comments were funnier than the article.

We've talked about grammar a load of times here and one thing's entirely clear, the more I read...people have different understandings and sometimes we know we're right, but we turn out to be wrong. Even the professional editors. They couldn't agree on a few of those.

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
HA! I have no idea because some of the context was lost on the little note cards. What are Oxford commas and why were they after each letter? I get the feeling we're talking about something other than superfluous commas... of course, there are loads of things I avoid in writing because i don't know every little rule, but some of these felt like no-brainers.

AAK! I have a challenge entry to write and instead, I'm here playing with you guys. Mythic Scribes...you are a procrastinator's dream.

Mythopoet

Auror