• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Writing a series

Last night, I had a dream that inspired me to turn my single novel into a trilogy. Now, I've never written a series before, so this is an entirely new challenge ahead of me, and I'm really looking forward to it.

My question is: should I write a book, edit/rewrite it, write the next, edit/rewrite that, and then write,edit, and rewrite the last book, or should I write all three books first, and then edit and rewrite after I've finished the first drafts? What has worked best for you guys?

T.Allen.Smith

Staff
I never understood how writers can say how long a potential series may be until they've completed at least the draft of the first book.

I'm not saying you don't have a good idea of length. You know your story. I don't. But, for my writing process it seems an impossibility to say I'm writing a trilogy or a seven book series from the get go. When the first book is done, I might have a stronger idea of the length required to tell the full, envisioned story.

Keep that in mind when considering my advice.

I recommend you write one book. Edit, revise, and perfect to the best of your ability. Keep notes on all the rest along the way.

The reason for that advice is that stories usually change during the writing. Characters change because we know them better at the end of a book. There's just too many changing variables to predict length until you have a good chunk of the overall story written.

BWFoster78

Myth Weaver
I agree with TAS.

I'd would suggest, though, that you think a lot about the rest of your series before publishing the first book, at least in general terms. If the final battle of the third book is going to be against the bad guys from Kingdom A, it'd be cool to mention that kingdom in your first book.