• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Killing my POV character

glutton

Inkling
I'm considering killing off my POV character in the middle of my fantasy adventure WIP, which I've never done before. What is your initial reaction to this based on the following details, do you think it would be okay?

The story so far has mainly been following three characters in a devastated world following a huge war - Lars, a mercenary looking for a way to heal his friend who is brain damaged from a war injury, Allen, the aforementioned brain damaged friend, and Cart-Dragger (not real name), a mythic figure who kills Godzilla sized monsters with her hammer and turns out to be a duchess trying to rebuild her city. Lars has been the POV character save for the short opening scene, but Cart-Dragger has been the 'star' and closest thing to the main character - she has the most agency, does the most awesome stuff while the others look on, and saves them a bunch of times. So far it has just mostly been a light romp getting to know Cart-Dragger and showing off how awesome she is, but the story is about to kick into high gear as the main conflict is finally introduced. I had planned to have the villain kill one of Cart-Dragger's friends when he first appears, but now have gotten the idea for him to kill Lars off too and switch the POV to Cart-Dragger. Allen would survive under the new plan, and feeling responsible for Lars' death Cart-Dragger takes it upon herself to take care of him and try to bring his old self back. She also has some other friends and allies who have been introduced so it wouldn't be a one woman show, although she would clearly step into the lead role.

Does this sound okay or would it be too jarring for you?

Reaver

Staff