• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Dealing with draft loathing

Nimue

Auror
These days when I sit down and try to write something--a short story or my WIP novel--I get a few sentences in and then just delete them, because it sounds awful, and whatever I wrote before sounds awful as well.

I'm aware of the concept of a shitty rough draft, but the sheer scale of the shittiness is discouraging. And I have a no-edit-until-it's-all-written policy in place, but moving forward is difficult by itself. It isn't the story itself or the scenes in question because I do love them in concept, but the execution is continually disappointing me. I realize that it's probably more pessimistic realism than anything else, because I am an inexperienced writer and doubtlessly what I'm working on is Not That Good, Really, but it's more helpful to see that about my work a couple years later or in a critical editing phase. Optimism, even if it's false, is kind of essential for getting things on the page.

How do you guys get out of the rut of hating your writing? Are there any practical exercises (not platitudes) that help?

I have found it helpful to sit down and read an average book--not one of my best-book-ever favorites--just to dispel the idea of every word in a book being perfect and magical. Do I need more practice editing, to be more realistic about what can be improved? Kind of difficult when I don't finish anything, though.

Butterfly

Auror
When I get like this I start small and build up usually around headings and bullet points. I tend to get stuck with transitionary scenes where little happens. I'm currently stuck on one chapter right in the middle of the book. I have left its editing till last, but it needs some major overhauling to be any good, in fact it's likely I'm going to delete it and start again.