• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Writers Block

Well we've all had it at one point or another haven't we? Yep, writer's block. Often I get inspired or get a rush of creative enthusiasm, write 3 pages in one sitting (seriously, thats a lot for me), I tell myself I'm going to get that wretched book done, then the next day I don't even want to think about it. I have been writing seriously for 2 years now on one project and the dreaded block is rarely gone for long. Sometimes its just for a day or 2, the longest record is 3 or 4 months. Generally I can't think of anything to do but wait it out.

So to cut through the waffle, what are your experiences of writer's block? How long does it last, do you get it often, or do any of you have a way of getting past it? Just curious as to how it effects other people.

Last edited:

Butterfly

Auror
I find that it usually means there is some detail wrong in the plot so far; it could be minor, could be major. It just means I have to go back and read what I've written a few times to find what is not working out. It means I do some editing, redrafting, filling in plot holes, and looking for inconsistencies in what I have already written and that should sort out any flow problems that I have written myself into.

If that doesn't solve it, I jump ahead and write something that is further along in the story. At the moment, the villain is calling to my muse, so I have to work with that and ignore the rest until he is sorted out.

I also find it helps to keep plot notes for several chapters ahead, redraft ideas, things to change. I also keep spreadsheets of where I am in the redrafting process it saves trying to pick out where I left off, and urges me on in seeing how far I have already come.