• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

A tip on adding tension and a question about adding emotion

BWFoster78

Myth Weaver
I’m an engineer, and I like equations. I’d love to be able to reduce writing to: do x, add y, and get z. I understand, however, that this craft is not mathematics. 1 + 1 does not always equal 2. You have to understand exactly when the equation works and when it doesn’t, but, in general, tips and rules help me improve my work.

Given the above as a thesis statement, I’d rather not have a bunch of posts saying: rules are bad, you need to know when to use rules, etc. We’ve already covered that in about a thousand threads. Work with me here! :)

I’m trying to develop my personal writing guide and came across a good tip for improving tension:

Let’s assume that it’s a good idea to have the following two elements in a scene –

1. A protagonist with a goal. This objective could be as simple as crossing the street, as complex as getting a girl to kiss him, as dire as wanting not to fall off the cliff, or as mundane as wanting to get off work early.
2. An obstacle preventing the goal. This impediment could be in the form of a person standing in the way of getting across the street, the girl who has no interest, gravity fighting your strained limbs, or a boss who needs a last minute project finished.

Adding tension becomes simple:

1. Pump up either the protagonist’s desire to attain the objective or its importance. He could need to get across the street to save someone’s life, the girl could be his future wife as he’s seen in a vision, the cliff is thousands of feet high and a fall certain death, or he has to get home because his child is deathly ill.
2. Make the obstacle stronger. The person in the blocking the street is an irate sumo wrestler, the girl is a beautiful actress desired by every male on the planet, your hero has a broken arm, or the boss is Donald Trump.