• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Fantasy Investigation?

Creed

Sage
My question concerns creating an investigation plotline in a book. It's something I've known I would add to the story's background but have yet to face or plan for. One reason for that is simply this; I don't know how. I've never done it before and I don't know where to start.*
I intended to read Nights of Villjamur to show me how one author did it in a fantasy world, but I don't own the book. I just went through my Witcher Game Guide (because the game is awesome and during Chapter 2 you conduct an investigation) but it didn't really help and I don't have the time to play the game again- also I'm not sure how much that would help.*
My investigation takes place in Underworld, the organisation that runs the capital's slums and brothels and taverns in the background. Very secret, of course. And when a man is hired by the crown to look into some suspicious happenings… well, he sticks his nose into Underworld's business, and that's not okay. So I have one investigation to conduct from that point of view.
But the shady leaders of Underworld itself know that this is going on, and are trying to prevent as much damage as is possible. So I need to direct another investigation being played out by a small group of thieves, thugs, and assassins inconspicuously searching for an informant in the hopes to kill him before he lets loose too much information.*
Any tips, ideas, or suggestions to help? Also, is that last comma allowed in the previous sentence right before the "or"?*

Last edited by a moderator:

ThinkerX

Myth Weaver
I spent some time on grand jury duty years ago - where cases get heard to see if there is enough evidence to warrent trial.

Apart from the small stuff: DUI, traffic offences, that sort of thing, there were two central elements to look for: