• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Preparation Before Writing

Black Dragon

Staff
Administrator
On average, how much time do you spend researching, outlining, etc. before you begin writing your novel?

I've been known to spend 3-6 months, although I love creating massive outlines. ;)

Also, what sort of preparation do you engage in?

Kaellpae

Inkling
I've been researching for my main world for about a month so far. I've outlined some characters and historical figures. This is my first time so I don't know how long it'll be till I get comfortable enough with my world to write something more than a short story. This will be nice to see what others say though.

Argentum

Troubadour
A day or two? If I get a new story idea, I usually have all the details down by the end of the day. Whatever needs to be research I usually do as I write. I have, however, spent a month recently devoted to doing research for one particular book. Most of that detail and research probably wasn't entirely necessary.

Leuco

Troubadour
I don't spend too long on the outline. As long as I have a beginning, middle, and end with some interesting conflicts, relationships, and drama, that's all I need to get started. If there's a problem, I just clean it up as I go. Same for research. If I need to describe something I know nearly nothing about, I make a trip to the local library.

Speaking of which, I found this very interesting resource about Biological Warfare in ancient times. It had some very neat stories about exploding pigs, trampling elephants, bug bombs-- as well as a very intriguing comparison of the Hydra to military technology. Or was it another mythic monster? I don't remember but it was all very interesting. If you like Joseph Campbell stuff, and obviously history, I think you'll find it worth reading.

Here's a link.