• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How to Copyright

Kaellpae

Inkling
I couldn't find a site that explains it simply.

How do you copyright characters, stories, and original creatures?

Chilari

Staff
As far as I know, anything original you create is automatically copyrighted to you. That goes for a lot of things - paintings, photographs, novels, short stories, music, etc. I'm not so sure about individual characters and creatures, but I have a feeling those are covered by it, provided it can be demonstrated that they are original and uniquely yours. You couldn't copyright elves, for example, but something like the Charr in Guild Wars do count as their intellectual property.

I may be wrong about this stuff, I'm no expert in law, but that's it as I understand it.

Depends on the country. What about copyright.gov? Usually the mere act of creation copyrights the work. Proving copyright is another matter and usually involves things like lawyers.

Kaellpae

Inkling
So as long as I have official dates of creation to prove I was the original creator then I shouldn't worry about it?

Shadoe

Sage
I believe you're talking about two different things - copyright and trademark. Copyright is basically "the sole right to copy" (publish) a written work. Trademark is a "mark of trade," such as a slogan, a cartoon character, and the like. You cannot copy or trademark an idea or a concept.