• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Mapping

I am a terrible graphic artist when it comes to making my maps freehand. The paper maps I've drawn out before always get crumpled or lost. Does software exist, free or paid, that makes the job of creating geographic maps that are nice to look at easier than drawing one up in paint or gimp?

K.S. Crooks

Maester
The main page of the website I used to make maps for my novel is donjon; RPG Tools. This site provides ideas for plots, characters, goals and several other things you may want in your story. The map maker is at donjon; Fractal World Generator. It is a wonderful tool and the map you create can be saved to your computer and opened in Photoshop to modify it as you like. Hope this help.

Last edited:

Joy

Acolyte
That's lovely, thanks. However, my top-favourite place that has already been mentioned is the Cartographer's Guild. Man, they have tutorials for different types of software, different recourses and must-know topics that educated me the least and made my world a bit more realistic and reasonable. Lurked there a couple of years. These guys are also inspiring and heated me up more than a dragon's breath.
God bless the Guild :D

ascanius

Inkling
Cartographers guild is the best place to start, it's where I work on my map and get feedback. Not to mention there are some excellent resources about map making and software of all kinds.