• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

100 stories

mbartelsm

Troubadour
For a long time, I've built my current world, but never wrote any actual story for it, and yesterday I realized that I only have empty nations and cities within an empty world. So I finally decided to start writing, since I have no writing experience, I thought maybe writing many short stories would be best for starting (100 being the goal, but since the first ones will probably suck I may write more).

How would you go about writing 100 stories of the same world? How would you come up with ideas to keep writing new stories?

I didn't knew whether to put this here or on writing questions, please move if appropriate.

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
Don't think about 100 stories.
Think about 1 story.
What is the first story you want to tell?
It could be anything, what do you want to us to read about...

Last edited:

Filk

Troubadour
I'd say CupofJoe has got it right, which isn't to say that you can't jot down short story ideas as you are writing something else. I would recommend starting with some action; a merchant caravan trip foiled by bandits or some sort of pursuit. What are some of your most unique and exciting characteristics of your cities? Maybe you could write a story about the architect who designed the palace somewhere. Try not to make it too epic or meaningful to your world as a whole, although it may end up heading there. You may end up writing a short story that begs you to turn it into a novel haha.