• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

A question on self-publishing

SDWallwork

Dreamer
My question relates to the effects that self publishing a book my have in relation to submitting the work to another publisher.

To elaborate, if I self publish a work, does this then mean I will run into troubles when submitting the work to another publisher such as copyright problems etc. I know that technically self publishing means that I should still own the entire work but if I use a company such as LuLu to publish a story, will they then have any hold over it if another publisher decides that they would want to buy it?

Sorry if this sounds a little mushed up, I'm new to the whole publishing side of things.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

danr62

Sage
Yes, you can self publish and submit to the trade houses at the same time. In your query letter or submission it would be good to mention that it is self published.

TWErvin2

Auror
SDWallwork,

danr62's advice is on target.

Also, self-publishing a work will create an additional hurdle (a steep one) to overcome to get your work considered for publication, and it is already a challenging enough endeavor. Your novel will have to be selling very very well for it to be considered. In that case, you might be asking yourself, "Why do I want a publisher for this novel?"

If you do decide to self-publish, I would recommend exploring other printers than Lulu. They provide a good service, but in going through them, a print novel tends to end up costing more for readers to purchase (online for example) than if it were printed by other companies, such as CreateSpace or Lightning Source. A higher retail price will deter potential readers, especially from trying an unknown author. Setting that aside, with self-publishing, most of an authors sales tend to come from ebook versions of a work.

SDWallwork

Dreamer