• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Allow me to introduce myself...

Hi!

I'm new to the site, but I've lurked about the forums for a bit and really love how much the community is actively involved and helping one another.

I'm a fantasy author working on the second book in my series. My first book, Cephrael's Hand, won a couple of SF/F awards, which is really nice as an indie author. I learned an enormous amount about writing fantasy, developing magical systems and world-building while designing this series, so I'm excited to be able to join a community of others who are interested in the same things.

To me, the fantasy genre overall is a showcase for everything that is good and honorable in man. I don't think you can really have a good fantasy novel without exploring the idea of good and evil in some way, and certainly the efforts of our characters to explore themselves and what they believe in - what they stand for - requires a lot of soul-searching that ultimately makes us question concepts of honor, loyalty, nobility and justice (to name just a few). As a philosophy major, I'm fascinated with these ideals and how their predominance or absence shapes a culture.

I look forward to interacting with everyone and would love to hear your thoughts on this subject if it's of interest to you also.

Best,
Melissa McPhail
Author, Cephrael's Hand
Buy it on Amazon: Amazon.com: Cephrael's Hand: A Pattern of Shadow & Light Book One (9781432759674): Melissa McPhail: Books

Xanados

Maester
Welcome, Melissa, to Mythic Scribes.

I can definitley appreciate your proffesional approach and presentation.

I hope you learn something new. We've a wealth of information here.

Ghost

Inkling