• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

An Introduction of Sorts, or, A Sordid Introduction

Lodestone

Acolyte
Hi everyone,

My name is Matt, but my handle online has been Lodestone since the before the turn of the previous century. I feel largely disingenuous here, as I would not say, “I’m a writer“, or even, “I occasionally do some fiction writing“. As a software developer, I write everyday. Just nothing worth reading. Yet here I am and I’m even writing an intro!

As far back as I can remember, my mind has been an endless font of ideas, but very little traversed from my head onto paper (or digital equivalent). I never pursued a creative path because I was afraid. I regret that now. And now I’m this middle aged guy - the clock is ticking!

In joining up here, I hope I can find some inspiration and motivation, encouragement and accountability, and perhaps some like-minded fellowship.

Cheers!

Steerpike

Felis amatus
Welcome, Matt. I hope you enjoy the community here. It can be difficult to find time or motivation to write, especially given how busy we all are. I can certainly relate.

Welcome.

Maybe sharing ideas here, and reading ideas here, and the general discussion here, will inspire you in some way.

I wouldn't worry so much about not having started. Maybe approach it as a sort of game, a fun pursuit, first?

And now I’m this middle aged guy - the clock is ticking!

Starting later in life is actually fairly common. Don't sweat it.

As far back as I can remember, my mind has been an endless font of ideas, but very little traversed from my head onto paper (or digital equivalent). I never pursued a creative path because I was afraid. I regret that now. And now I’m this middle aged guy - the clock is ticking!
What counts as middle aged these days? The older I get the older middle aged people seem to get... ;)