• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Anyone else published on Kindle?

ALB2012

Maester
So I have just published on Kindle but their forums seem inundated with people having various formatting issues. I did too which I have mostly fixed. However the forum users work around seems needlessly long winded and you need to know a good bit of HTML, which I don't.

I was wondering if anyone had any tips. I personally don't think its too bad and it wouldn't stop me buying a book unless it was awful but I know a good few people are whining. It seems every book I look at on kindle is different.

I've published a couple of short stories on Kindle. I export from OpenOffice (LibreOffice, now) to HTML, and then use the html2mobi perl script to convert the file (after I run it through a vim macro to clean up some of the utterly horrifying HTML output that *Office generates). Haven't really had any problems.

Then again, my day job is as a web developer, and I run Linux on all my machines, so I may be slightly above the average when it comes to technical know-how ;)

Veronica

Acolyte
There's a free guide for publishing to Kindle that I'd downloaded from Amazon before putting my first piece out there. Having gone through the Smashwords 'meatgrinder' with other works, I found the Kindle guidelines easier and more intuitive. The guide is "Building Your Book for Kindle," and while it references MS Word for the formatting, it should be easily translatable for the more tech-savvy who prefer other word processing programs.

Steerpike

Felis amatus
I also exported to HTML from Libre Office, then just went through and manually removed all of the excess HTML tags and added a few of my own (for the cover, for example). Was simple.

ALB2012

Maester