• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Are there lines that can be drawn within the fantasy genre?

Hi

When looking at fantasy, is there a differentiation between works of literature that have fantasy elements versus a deeply rooted fantasy genre novel.

I am a relative newbie to the genre, in the sense that I have read some that are widely popular, - Tolkien, Pratchett, Rowling, Pullman but I am about to deep dive and wanted to understand it better from a knowledgeable community.

Are there certain criteria that might meet the expectations of a fantasy novel. It seems an obvious question but I would see a book like Phillip Pullman’s Northern Lights as on the fence vs Tolkien’s being deeply rooted in so many elements of what is deemed a fantasy novel.

The books have creatures/figures associated with fantasy but one has taken a lot from folklore, ancient myths whilst the other has taken quite a lot from modern religion and with very little references to magical creatures used in fantasy other than witches.

Is there any set parameters/expectations e.g. hardly any of X and X really does not constitute fantasy. If it moves away too far from some of the key elements of fantasy it is not technically considered to enter that genre anymore or are there divisions within that can be properly set apart from one another.

A. E. Lowan

Forum Mom
Leadership
Within the over-genre of speculative fiction the lines between fantasy, science fiction, and horror can get pretty fuzzy. For example, my writing team writes urban fantasy, which is fantasy in real-world settings. Think Supernatural or Lucifer or Buffy the Vampire Slayer, all urban fantasies. Urban fantasy bumps close to a sub-genre of literary fiction called magical-realism, in which magical elements are at play in the real world with little to no explanation or reason, and often aren't a main feature of the plot.