• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Art Mirrors Life

I had an interesting conversation the other day with a writer friend; she made the joke that she needs to work on passive voice in her writing, and how it was funny because she's also pretty passive in real life.

BUT that made me think--do I have any weaknesses/strengths/quirks that span both my writing and real life? The first thing that popped into my head was the fact that I generally don't worry much about my appearance--beyond being clean and relatively neat, I don't mess with fashion or accessories or make up. As a writer, I also have to force myself to include description. It just doesn't occur to me to write it unless I am being intentional about it. I'd say those two are relatively similar aspects.

So of course now I'm curious if anyone else has ever noticed something similar. Does your art and the habits connected to it mirror your real life personality or tendencies?

Svrtnsse

Staff
Article Team
Now that you mention it...

I'm very visual, and descriptions come quite easily to me. However, I've got bad color vision, and I have a hard time telling certain shades and nuances apart. I don't use much color in my descriptions, and when I do, it's largely plain, ordinary colors (red, green, blue) rather than detailed nuances (peach, mauve, faucet, etc).

Chasejxyz

Inkling