• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

audio publishing routes and authorial narration

buyjupiter

Maester
I was thinking about adding some audio recordings to my blog of my short stories that I've already put out into the world but aren't necessarily what I want to send out for publication...and I thought, maybe, since I've already got access to proper recording equipment, and I don't want to spend a fortune paying for narration services when I'm just getting started...I should just do it myself?

I'm not coming from a position of ego (i.e. I am the creator and only I know how it must be), but I do have a decent reading voice. I know how my characters sound and how I want the language to sound.

Is anyone else thinking of doing this? Has anyone else done their own audiobook recording? Pitfalls? Pluses? Do the platforms that distribute audiobooks laugh at writers for doing this and pat them on the head and tell them they'll do it again...in a proper studio?

Or am I so completely wrong about all of the above that I should just go back to playing in my sandbox and leave that kind of thing to the professionals?

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
I know nothing about the business end of audio books so I cannot comment there.
I have done some audio recording for work [academic and not commercially] and it is a lot harder and more time consuming than I ever imagined.
We usually work on a scale of 1hr recording per 5min speech.
We usually work in short sections any where from a few second to a few minutes. 5 minutes would be a long take...
Then there comes the effects, mastering and general editing, tweaking and manipulation that has to be done.
You may think your voice is the same all day but it is not, morning sessions will sound very different to late night sessions. The same goes for pacing... We cannot help it, we talk at different speeds all the time. Linking and blending these takes taken hours or even days apart...