• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Author vs. Writer

Not too long ago, I was talking to a friend of mine. At one point, I had said that I was an author. She asked me how many books I had published, and I said none. She said "Oh, well then you aren't an author. You're just a writer." I wasn't aware that there were ranks involved with this hobby. Do you guys use the terms interchangeably, or is there a significant difference between the two?

MineOwnKing

Maester
Sounds like she's testing you.

I don't see a difference.

If a woman secretly has a thing for you she might want you to be published to add a feather in her hat.

Or if she has low self-esteem----misery loves company.

Or she might be trying to impress you by saying something clever.

Mythopoet

Auror
I do think the term author implies that you have a finished work that is available to the public. Though I do not think that means it needs to be "published" in the traditional sense of "liscensing the rights to the work to a publisher in exchange for distribution to the public".

A writer is simply one who writes.

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
I have been a writer for a long time, since 2001. I do not consider myself an author because I have no books out there for readers to read. I believe "author" is a word that holds a meaning in context to novels, whereas writing short stories, I'm simply a "writer". I don't think the one has to be considered any less professional than the other, simply a differentiation about what one does. I don't think one "authors" short stories. That sounds silly to me personally. And until I have a book (or more likely books) out there, I wouldn't call myself an author. That's just my two cents.

Ophiucha

Auror