• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Changing the view-point character?

Amanita

Maester
You probably noticed that I've been very quiet recently. That's partly because I'm rather busy with real life but partly also because I'm very frustrated with my story at the moment.

And that's mainly because I'm not sure anymore, if the main character I've been playing around with for the last three years really is the right one to tell an interesting and engaging story.
The main problem is, that she's from another country and the process of getting her where she's supposed to be for the story takes a lot of time even though it doesn't have that much to do with the actual plot. Than she gets there and is absolutely clueless and I end up in info-dump scene after info-dump and yet there's no real reason for her to feel the issues the others feel because she hasn't been brought up with them.

Another problem is, that I'm not really happy with the setup of her backstory anymore either. I feel guilty about having based it a bit around a real world event and maybe not treating it and the people involved there with the respect due to them and I fear that it doesn't make much sense with the things she's supposed to do later either. It also requires much setup and many people important and the beginning who don't turn up anymore later.
And yet, changing these too things isn't possible because than she wouldn't be her anymore and I'd have a completely new character, which is of course difficult to achieve after having become so familiar with her.

Do you think that letting go of a character for the sake of the story is the more reasonable thing to do in this case?

Last edited:

Chilari

Staff
It seems to me that if it's not working the way you have it, something needs to change. Whether that's the story itself or the perspective you're telling it from, you need to change something.