• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Cliche Sells

C

Chessie

Hi. :)

The recent thread about why we read and write fantasy, as well as some other discussions on this forum lately, it's put something on my mind. Cliche. I used to hate it, but have now come to terms with the fact that it sells and this is a good thing for me to have realized.

Hear me out. Pretty much my entire life, I've been writing the stories that come from my heart. Most readers that have invested time into reading my works haven't liked it. My guess is that either I've been a real shitty writer (which yea, this is truth) and/or also that I write niche stuff. But this has burned me immensely on the beginnings of my Indie publishing journey.

Much of my time outside of writing goes towards learning about marketing, editing, crafting book covers, running a business in general including how to hire good editors and cover artists, and most importantly connecting with other Indies. I've learned a lot from the private group as well as from lurking on the Kboards forums. All of this pertaining mostly to publishing, not so much craft because I get great discussions on that here at Mythic Scribes.

My realization is this: IF I ever want to have the chance at selling books for a living, then I need to write more marketable stuff. You know, the stuff that I wish there was less of like cliche farm boys and princesses that need rescuing. However, even though I've been writing whatever I want and crafting it to the best of my ability, the fact is that no one gives a crap. Why? Because it's not exciting. It's not what sells.

So I went on Amazon and read through some of the blurbs on the best seller lists. Now, I realize that the best-seller tag is a debatable one given this all depends on subjectivity, but those authors are selling thousands of books in order to earn those titles. What are they doing right? WHAT ARE THEY WRITING?!?!?!