• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Collaborative Gaming World: Part One - Concept

I’ve done a whole load of world building over the years, some of it related to novels. But I also come up with just as many related to video game ideas. I’ll admit first off that I have no background in video game design, so this is purely a ‘wouldn’t it be cool if someone made this’ type post with little hope of making it to a real world product.

My idea is not a world for just one video game, but a world in which many games could take place, with different developers being allowed to add their own locations and narratives. Think of the Star Wars and Marvel Universes, where many different types of stories play out, just so long as they don’t clash in terms of world building and overall style.

To begin with, I’m imagining a full planet sized world, not far off the size of our own, with oceans, deserts, jungles, tundra and pretty much every biome that’s present on Earth, plus a few more. Of course designing all that by hand would be impossible; it’s just insanely expensive and time consuming. So what I have in mind is a game that on one level plays like the latest Flight Simulator, where you can pilot an airship over landscape and cities created through procedural generation.

That would allow for a vast game space that looks pretty from the air or road, but would probably be dull and bland when it comes to just putting your vehicle down and partaking in a story. So for each game that is designed a number of hand crafted locations could be built. For example, if the game is to take place in a city, the designers wouldn’t need to create the entire city, but could focus on just a few key areas designed to navigated by foot (historical centers, prisons, palaces etc) on which most of the story is to play out, and the player can use vehicles to navigate the wider terrain between them.