• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Does two spaces make a difference?

Devora

Sage
I'm wonder if the use of making two spaces after a punctuation mark at the end of a sentence make any sort of difference when trying to get published in a magazine.

Does it, or no?

I'm not sure how much of a difference it makes, but it's pretty well the standard everywhere to use only one by now.

Of course, that's assuming the magazine's style guide doesn't mention it.

Steerpike

Felis amatus
I agree with wordwalker. Use of two spaces is archaic at this point, in my view. I preferred to get manuscripts with only one, though I didn't ask for it in guidelines. I don't know if anyone addresses this specifically in guidelines anymore, but with computers and word processing, I'm not sure there's a good reason to use two anymore.

Alexandra

Closed Account
When I worked as a journalist in Canada (Toronto) double spacing was frowned upon by the editors I knew.

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
I think the need of it was from mono-space type, when the end of a sentence had to be clear[er]. With modern type setting and proportional fonts I guess it is less important. In fact I only know of one place that used to require it, an EU technical journal.

TWErvin2

Auror
As has been said above, two spaces has been largely phased out. If you do use two spaces by habit, it's easy enough to find and replace two spaces with one space.

BWFoster78

Myth Weaver
I tend to prefer the doublespace. I like the extra pause after the period.

That's the great thing about self publishing; I can do what I want.

I don't think it will stop a publisher from accepting your manuscript if they like the story. It's an easy enough thing for them to change when they format for publication. But it is something they're likely to take out, so it's worth training yourself not to do it, for the long run.

Philip Overby

Staff
Article Team