• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Facial Focus: Describing the face of a character

Devora

Sage
I'm having trouble with a bit of description in this story I'm writing where I'm trying to describe the face of one of the main characters. I know that it is bad writing to go into too much detail in stories, i.e, purple prose, but I just want to get some of the defining characteristics such as the shape of parts of the face (the eyes maybe as well).

Any advice on how to approach this situation, and what methods you use?

Queshire

Istar
hmmm.... I'm not that good at this stuff myself, but I'd start with what you want people's first impression of the character to be and then work backwards to try and think of the facial features that would suggest that first impression.

Steerpike

Felis amatus
My personal view is that less is more, but I've read some very good books that include a lot of character description. As a reader, I latch onto one or two primary details and promptly ignore the author's descriptions in favor the image I have in my own head. My recommendation is to go with a couple of primary features very early one (maybe three at most) - the ones that are most important in your view - and leave it to the reader from there. When you envision the characters, what are the two features that stick out most in your mind, for example.

Ophiucha

Auror