• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Feedback from Peers

Diz

So I just finished my first draft of my book. I was told that it is a great idea to send it out and get feedback from people before trying to go any further in the publishing department. How many people is a good number to get feedback from?

I've been having a hard time to find people that can read my 90,000 word book and I feel as though my re-reading it does not do the editing and revising process justice. I was also wondering if there was a sight where you could send you manuscript to some people and they would give you feed back.

I am a young writer (19) and excited to see how far my work can go.

Let me know what you think. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
I have a half dozen people I work very closely with and have developed a personal relationship with. Critters is a good site, but you have to put in a lot of work, so I just recently joined and then quit. If you want to find people to trade with, put some feelers out on this site, I've found most of my really great crit partners here and they've been invaluable. Of course, developing the crit relationship is half of the work. You know, trading good, thorough, honest crits. So you might want to try one person at a time until you have a good handle on exactly what a partner is looking for. It's sort of an equal-exchange-type relationship. Where, you get out of it what you put in.