• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Gender Pronoun Difficulties

The main character of my current story is genderless, and so far I've been using they/their as a sort of place-holder for now until I decide whether to use they/their and explain it in a author's note, or to create a new pronoun entirely and explain it in an author's note.
Any thoughts?

Ireth

Myth Weaver
It might be easier to write this story in first person, so you don't have to use neutral pronouns at all. You can make their gender (or lack thereof) clear in dialogue or otherwise.

I'm not very experienced in writing in first-person; most of my stories are in third-person-limited [I call it 'Harry Potter perspective']. Then again...the actual writing is a bit...clunky right now, so I might switch to first person for a bit and see how I like it.

"They" works just fine. Whether to tell the story in first-person or not is a decision only you can make. You'll have to think about which POV is the best for your story.

I feel like the bit of the story that I'm writing right now is only a small part of a much larger story. :cool: Point of view decisions are sometimes tricky. Somehow, through first-person in one of the drafts for my first book several years ago, I successfully kept the fact that the main character was trans-gender until the very end, while dropping hints here and there. I kind of scrapped that draft, but I'm considering ideas to merge it into a later draft about a kitsune [fox spirit]. I'm full of ideas tonight!

Last edited:

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
If there are three people on the other side of the room, how do you use "they" to indicate the one on the left as distinguished from the whole group?

Queshire

Istar
Personally I second the suggestion to try first person and see how that works. Other than that I vote for They, but mostly since I think it looks better than author created pronouns.