• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

General Fantasy Writing Thread

I am really excited about my novel(obviously) and would like to build a community of fledgling writers that will discuss and support each others work. I will be looking into self-publishing as well as tradition very soon and am trying to use social media to share it with others. I am sure every one of us can benefit from a shared following.

So who's out there in a similar stage? What are you working on? Who are your influences? What challenges are you struggling with?

I'll go first: I've been working on my book for a little over two years now and its in its fifth revision. Its a fantasy genre piece taking place in a purely anthropomorphic world. Yes, I said it. They are all animal people. Now laugh if you will, its only natural. Here is my working synopsis!

Among the Viakov, the black bearfolk of Nith, a height of less than seven feet means you’re a runt. If that wasn’t bad enough, young Abnayrn can’t find a single trade that he’s decent in either. Needless-to-say, he’s having a difficult time passing into adulthood.

But the arrival of Master Toothless changes everything when he is chosen to be the famous bard’s assistant. That week, Abnayrn learns that the simple life he has always longed for never truly existed. Unhinged, the young bearfolk chooses to leave home in search for a purpose.

The epic that follows invites the reader to journey with Abnayrn as he discover the visceral world of Nith, where the brave bearfolk are preyed upon by warped beasts and the spirits of an eldritch race vie for control over the living to continue the war that brought about their extinction.