• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Getting Reviews

Mark

Scribe
I read recently that Amazon was deleting many reviews from the top reviewers – which would obviously affect this.

Have you tried doing this yourself?

MineOwnKing

Maester
That article is 3 years old.

So much changes in that amount of time.

I can say from experience that it's pretty much a dead end.

Not only that but it's really grueling and time consuming. Getting no response from a reviewer is almost worse than getting no response from an agent.

If your book does well enough to get picked up by an amazon marketing team then you will undoubtedly receive hundreds of reviews.

But even well established self-pub writers can struggle getting reviews if they are still marketing solo.

BWFoster78

Myth Weaver
Though I have no experience with the issue, I can understand why MineOwnKing had a dead end experience.

Put yourself in the place of a top reviewer. Everyone and their brother is contacting them constantly for reviews. Same thing with top book blogs.

I wonder if some other advice I read would be more productive: Find books similar to yours. Look at the reviews for that book. Do a bit of investigation about the reviewer, and if that person seems like a match and has contact info available and has a decent but not huge amount of reviews, contact that reviewer.

Seems like this method would have more chance of success because:

A. You can say right off the bat, I thought you might like my book because you liked X book.
B. This person, since they don't have a huge number of reviews, is probably not approached often. Therefore, seems like there's a higher probability that that reviewer would be 1) flattered by the approach and 2) be available to do the review.

Yes this would probably be a better approach.