• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Give me an "R"!

Incanus

Auror
I am an aspiring writer of fantasy whose middle name happens to begin with the letter R.

So here is my thinking: if I had a nickname that also began with the letter R, I could format my name as: <firstname> R. R. <lastname>.

My impeccable logic tells me that having two R’s in your name is likely to lead to great things, fantasy-author-wise.

I can’t self-apply a nickname, so does anyone have any ideas for a nickname that begins with an R?

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
Once you find your nickname, don't forget, you have to do something to earn it.

Incanus

Auror
Ha! Thanks for indulging in my silliness, folks.

Once you find your nickname, don't forget, you have to do something to earn it.

Agreed. The name should have some kind of relevance. At this point, "Ridiculous" would be all too appropriate, and something already well earned long ago. But, the rules say I can't self-apply.

Rhinocerus is something I would never have thought of.
Randir has a cool sound to it; good one Ireth.
Ringo has been used before, but it fits in a way (his real name is the same as my middle name).
Romeo would be ironic--I'm pretty much the antithesis of what might be called a "Lady's-man".

Lo! I'm just one R short of impending greatness!!! All I need is one good R.

Steerpike

Felis amatus
Doesn't have to stand for anything. You can write under a pen name, and it could be R. R. [last name].

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
Somebody mentioned Rumplestiltskin. In Once Upon a Time they just call him "Rumple," and he's a weird enough character that I can see it being nickname worthy.

I mean, why would anyone just start calling you "Ronnie" or "Ringo"? That would just be weird.

Incanus

Auror
Of course, I'm not serious about this--just having a little fun.