• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Greetings

Varamyrr

Minstrel
Greetings to all,
My name is Varamyrr. I have been 'lurking' this forum for quite some time now and finally decided to register myself.
Long story short. In comparison to most of you guys I'm not a native english speaking person. I come from the cloudy & rainy land filled with chocolate and french fries with mayonaise we call Belgium. I work in IT as Linux system administrator at one of the mayor banks. Quite a stressfull job to be honest...
On a more personal note, I'm 27 years old and my hobbies are football, archery, films, games and ofcourse reading. The funny thing is, I used to dislike reading. I was one of those guys that went on the internet in order to find a decent synopsis of a book. Nowadays I'm reading books till there's no end. I only read fantasy though. I consider reading like 'a way out'. My favorites so far are: A song of Ice and Fire(hence the nickname), The Dark tower, Wheel of Time, LOTR + The Hobbit(Children of Hurin and Sil.. were a bit slowpaced) and Blood of Elves(+ The Last Wish) aka The Witcher. Personally, I even find it hard to 'outwrite' these great works. Someone told me "you read what you are and you are what you read" and while this is through, I hope I don't become a copycat of these authors. *fingers crossed*

The goal is pretty simple: write a fantasy novel(series) with a dark & gritty atmosphere set in a medieval world. Which I think is pretty standard stuff, but I'm a sucker for the genre. Hopefully I can get people to really like/dislike some of the characters that I have in mind. My project is in its early stages. At the moment I'm writing down "all the cool stuff" that comes into mind while at the same time I'm experimenting with Photoshop in order to make a decent map.