1. Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us.

Helm with Glasses

Discussion in 'Research' started by A. E. Lowan, Oct 11, 2020.

1. A. E. Lowan

A. E. Lowan Forum Mom Leadership

I have a combat magician I'm sending into battle and I need her in a helm for her protection, but she's wearing glasses. Can this work? Does this work? All I can think of is my martial arts classes when I was a kid, and how much it hurt to get hit in the glasses through my head protection, some of which I can use, but that was a foam headpiece.

Any ideas? Thanks!

2. Insolent Lad

Insolent Lad Inkling

Plenty enough modern soldiers have worn glasses with their helmets, both prescription and sunglasses. Or you might opt for some sort of prescription goggles instead of normal over-the-ear glasses

3. A. E. Lowan

All great ideas, except I'm stuck with the glasses due to time constraints. If worse comes to worse, I can rewrite a section of the book and give her contacts, but that sucks, so I don't want to do it. :D She's being equipped at the last minute in dwarven armor that's basically fantasy/medieval/Renaissance with room to wiggle. Clockwork wouldn't be outside the realm of possibility, for example.

4. Devor

Devor Fiery Keeper of the Hat Moderator

I think he'd just have glasses under his helm and have that be uncomfortable. I mean it's not ideal. They could probably be redesigned to be more durable. If he takes a mace to the head they'll probably break, but at that point he's lucky to be alive anyways. In a battle he's going to be full of adrenaline so having his glasses bumped painfully into his head probably wouldn't phase him, but it'd be a thing he complains about later, which might be character building.

A. E. Lowan likes this.
  5. Svrtnsse

Svrtnsse Staff Article Team

What are you doing to Jessie, you cruel, cruel women!

Does it have to be a close faced helmet or can it be an open one? Maybe they can just rip off the visor as a last minute modification?