• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How do you pay the bills?

From the sounds of it, most of you aren't making much money from writing. What's your day job?

I'm a college student, but I work part-time as an assistant budget analyst for the school dining halls. On a good day, this means matching numbers between two sheets and seeing where they disagree, with the satisfaction of knowing that I've just made life a little more miserable for someone who added the total value of checks into the total value of cash or reported that they served half a customer. On a bad day, this means entering data from invoices into a computer, and then changing it because Ledyard now sells us cilantro for $1.15 a bunch rather than $1.16. Still, I take a certain pride in the accuracy of my work, and I hope to work as a budget analyst full-time once I graduate.

Steerpike

Felis amatus
I did make ends meet for a while doing freelance writing (mostly ghost writing). Non-fiction stuff. Now, I write all day long, so I suppose you could say I make a living writing, but it is all patent applications and responses to the patent office :)

Ireth

Myth Weaver
I'm a college student, currently unemployed, but with luck that will change at least for the summer.

Telcontar

Staff
Programmer and martial arts instructor. Though I did just receive my first royalties from self-publishing at the beginning of the month!

I'm a PHP developer who manages a small team of other developers, working for a kids' entertainment website. Some day, I'll have my own office, where no one can see my screen, and then I'll get a crapton of writing done. ;)

Kelise

Maester
I handle travel and relocations for local Government Education Department. Lovely quiet office (in one of the cities' tallest (comes with ocean views) newest buildings) along with awesome co-workers, to write in all day. 6 weeks paid holidays and $1,000 holiday bonus.