• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How does a young writer separate themselves?

Peace be with you all, fellow writers. As the title suggests, I am a young writer who is involved in a creative writing class at my school. I like to think that I am mechanically more talented, yet I sometimes have trouble getting assignments done to my liking and I feel like I'm not living up to my full potential in my own realm. How does a young writer like me differentiate themselves from the run-of-the-mill writing that most of my classmates are doing? Is it: new and fresh ideas, better writing in terms of mechanical writing elements, or perhaps a mix of the two? Let me know what you think.

ALSO, I AM LOOKING FOR SOMEONE TO DO A COLLABORATION WITH! IF INTERESTED IN WORKING WITH A YOUNG WRITER SUCH AS MYSELF, PLEASE PM ME.

If you're writing in genre, try and make someone truly unique. For example, I'm writing a fantasy war story set in a 1920s secondary world. I think its important to have a truly unique premise.

This being said, getting your prose, characters, plot and setting up to scratch is going to help a lot.

Telcontar

Staff
I have a heavy perfectionist streak and often have trouble finishing projects to my standards as well - this results in a lot of unfinished work. It was debilitating when I was younger. The most important thing I learned as I continued to write was to finish my stuff. To accept imperfection. To not "let the perfect be the enemy of the good" (or the decent) as the saying goes.