• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How Many Ridiculous Comic Relief Characters Is Too Many?

My main writing project that I've been working on for a couple months is currently in the the main concept stage of "write down all your ideas and concepts and make them work" that comes before the dreaded "alright, now actually make them work as a cohesive narrative" stage that soon follows and have been having some issues with character design. My story is centred around a trio of three main protagonists with a group comprised of six main "villains" that they periodically encounter (both separately and together) throughout their journey that as the antagonists. After fleshing out 5 of the 6 "villains" I've run into some problems regarding the sixth and final ne'er-do-well.

One of the very first villains I created was made intentionally ridiculous and psychotic with a Deadpool-esque demeanour to counter-act the seriousness of all the other villains for a bit more diversity. Between breaking the fourth wall, disregarding the laws of physics, and summoning giant trains out of thin air, they're a beloved character of mine and always fun to write about.

Now as I started creating my sixth villainous character to be a cruel sorceress donning high-heels with an attitude that you'd expect from the head of a cheer-leading team in some cheesy 90s movie. Although I'm already despising her (in a good way), and the fact that she's got a great 'grude-match nemesis' thing going with one of the protagonists, I've started to worry that my fantasy story might start to veer towards satire/comedy. Despite not breaking the third wall or summoning props out of thin air, she still has a sense of 'not fitting in' within the medieval fantasy world that on one hand makes her an interesting character, but on the other, one that might end up not blending well with the overall style of the world.