• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Humorous Fantasy

Has anybody try writing in this type of fantasy like Terry Pratchett has been doing for almost 30 years. I am currently trying to attempt this and I'm wondering what cliches of fantasy that I can make fun of.

Oh believe me I am not, I had to write a synopsis even for a humorous story like this. I look at this as something like film director Edgar Wright would've done, create a believable story and characters while spoofing and homaging the genre at the same time. Obviously this is my first time in writing a humorous novel so I'm a bit on edge here.

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
The website tvtropes.com is full of common elements that you can try to mock. For instance, mock the trope called Mordor, named after the obvious example. The site just works better if I give a topic instead of the homepage.

Last edited:

Telcontar

Staff
For other ideas and a look at another style, check out the stories of Hank Quense (incredible short story author). Also has a very comedic and satirical style. I know that many of his stories are up on Smashwords.

Thank you everyone and just let you know what the story is going to be like, I'll give you this hint:
Discworld meets Community
The-science-of-discworld-1(close-up).jpg

NUP_141500_0379.jpg

Griffin

Minstrel
Look up Rinkworks' "The Fantasy Novelist's Exam." Lists many cliches. If it doesn't help, you'll at least get a laugh out of it.

Question example: 63. Is your hero able to withstand multiple blows from the fantasy equivalent of a ten pound sledge but is still threatened by a small woman with a dagger?

MAndreas

Troubadour
I heard a cool thing the other day- movies more than books, but the idea is the same. Don't try to write funny- your characters are serious, they just have funny situations ;). (It was about writing Galaxy Quest)

topazfire

Minstrel