• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

I've not introduced myself yet

Johnny Cosmo

Inkling
Hey, I've made a few posts over the past few days - but not yet introduced myself.

I've always had a slight interest in fantasy, but I'm not experienced in the genre. I read The Hobbit, the Lord of the Rings, and other works by Tolkien when I was younger, am currently reading A Song of Fire and Ice, and plan on buying Tigana, and borrowing the Wheel of Time series from a friend. What I've always been interested in though, was reading about ancient mythologies; Greek and Norse predominantly, but a little Celtic and Egyptian too. I also enjoy other fantasy media, films, video games and TV shows.

I remember when I was young, I wanted to write a fantasy story, but the novelty faded with time. Recently I decided I wanted to give it a shot, fully aware that it might just be a passing whim. I half expect to find I haven't really got what it takes. I've been slowly researching and piecing together my world, so I joined this forum, to see how others are going about planning and writing fantasy novels.

Codey Amprim

Staff
Article Team
Hey there, Johnny! I share a same interest in Greek and Norse mythologies, parially due to the RTS computer game, Age of Mythology - something I've spent a lot of time with. Mythologies are a great source of inspiration for your own stories, so I can't wait to see some of your work!

Best of luck with writing! If your story is worth taking time to comtemplate making it come to life, then do it! : )

TWErvin2

Auror
Johnny Cosmo,

Welcome!

There's some good fantasy novels out there that incorporate Greek and Norse mythology, and plenty of good works that don't.

Glad you joined us here.

Terry

Angharad

Troubadour
Greetings, Johnny! I also love all kinds of mythology, and many fantasy tales have their roots in myth. Glad you have joined us.

Johnny Cosmo

Inkling